2018 President's Report


The 2019 AGM will be held on 6:15pm, on Monday, 11th February 2019 in the Boardroom of the Oval No.2 Grandstand. All are welcome.

2018 was a remarkable year for Sydney University Baseball.

1st, 2nd and 3rd Grade all qualified for the playoffs for the first time since 2013; with 4th Grade narrowly missing out on the last weekend of the regular season. Head Coach Mitchell Liddle, Club Manager Mark Stanley, the coaching staff and entire playing roster should feel very proud of their hard work to achieve this formidable on-field result.

1st Grade won seven of their last eight games to gallop into the postseason as a form darkhorse; before losing 3-0 to UNSW in the semi-final. The foundations are established for a deeper run in 2019.

2nd Grade were 2018 SWBL Champions, defeating Hawkesbury 4-2 in the Grand Final. Starter Jarryd “Sugar” Stanley was named Grand Final MVP and 2nd Grade Pitcher of The Year. Sonny Butterworth claimed the league’s Geoff Gorman Trophy for 2nd Grade Most Valuable Player.

3rd Grade were 2018 SWBL Champions, defeating Hawkesbury 2-1 in the Grand Final, for their third premiership in a row, and their fifth title in seven years. Starting pitcher Jon “Duck” Nicoll earned Grand Final MVP after a complete game win, with Gavin Morgan earning the league’s Jim Hall Trophy as 3rd Grade Most Valuable Player.

The Students went undefeated to claim Gold at inter-varsity, the newly titled Nationals Division 1, comfortably defeating Griffith University 11-1 in the Grand Final. Medicine Postgrad Alex Cobb dominated as a pitcher throughout the tournament, in addition to serving as Male Captain for the entire Sydney University athlete body.

Sydney University won the Bronze Medal in the Club Pool of the Hong Kong International Baseball Open 2018; contested by teams from Hong Kong, Taiwan, Philippines, Singapore and Russia. In a harder field than 2017, the Cynics finished the tournament with a 2-1-1 record and were the only team to not lose to the eventual champions Hong Kong. Mitchell Liddle was team MVP; Patrick Glover had most stolen bases for the tournament; and Nicholas Doller tied for most home runs.

Alex Cobb was awarded a Sydney University Blue for a stellar 2018 season, the club’s first Blue in 15 years. His inter-varsity heroics were complemented by a 1st Grade pitching ERA of 2.06 over 65+ innings.

I was personally honoured to receive a Sydney University Gold. I’d like to thank those that nominated me, those that have played or served with me, and all of the tremendous Cynics who have helped shape the club that I’ve been proud to call my own for the past 15 years.

Thanks to our alumni, we now have 3 named scholarships: Ron Rushbrooke, Ron & Jennie Finlay, and David Hynes. I am awed by the generosity of our members and commend all that pay it forward so that future Cynics can derive the same experience we all enjoyed in our glory years!

2018 saw six students accepted into the Elite Athlete Program: Alex Cobb, Matt Kelleher, Dean Matheson, Dean Pousini-Hilton, Jun Kamiaraiso and Josh Peruch.

Ladies’ Day set another fundraising record, with $1,035 raised for Chris O’Brien Lifehouse, following some of our families’ battles with cancer this year.

Alumni Day had representation from members from all decades: 50's, 60's, 70's, 80's, 90's, 00's and 10’s; with many generous donations to our named scholarships.

Golf Day saw a team featuring club legend Neil Barrowcliff claim the Cynics Invitational Mega Golf Classic Galactic Champion trophy.

Presentation Night was a roaring success in the Oval No.1 Grandstand, followed by the Cynics crashing the Rugby celebrations on Oval No.2 after their Shute Shield victory. Many thanks to all-timer David Hynes for his tremendous keynote speech, about his playing career and time with the club, which had everyone in stitches.

All gratitude to the Executive Committee for 2018 for their invaluable service. The club would be lost without these gentlemen: Secretary Matt Kelleher, Treasurer Dean Matheson, Student VP Dean Pousini-Hilton, Andrew Franklin, Ben Warnock, Jasper Odgers and Club Patron Hartley Anderson.

Perpetual Award Winners

Jack Mould Club MVP – Alex Cobb

David Hynes Batting Champion – Jackson Mannix

Neil Barrowcliff Gold Glove – Nicholas Doller

Jennie Finlay Encouragement Award – Josh Peruch

Pam Garrett Spirited Performance “The Stump” – Wade Shipard

The Swan for most Extra-Base Hits – Nicholas Doller

Wade Shipard