Double Championship for Uni

Sydney Uni Baseball Club excelled on Grand Final Saturday, winning two Championships from two starts; punctuated by a resounding rendition of the Club Song in front of the scoreboard at Petersham Oval.

4th Grade began the day with a valiant come-from-behind victory against Red Devils, 3-2. The underdog Cynics kept the pressure on with contact hitting and an aggressive running game; forcing the opposition into 2 baulks and mistakes in key moments. Grand Final MVP Matt Best started the offence with the Cynics' opening hit and closed out the game on the mound.
Photo Gallery

3rd Grade emphatically exorcised last year's demons with a 13-3 mercy rule win over Petersham. With 14 hits, the Cynics produced throughout the lineup; scoring runs in every inning. Grand Final MVP Andrew Franklin collected 3 hits, and went horizontal at 1B to snare a hard hit grounder to prevent runs whilst the game was still in the balance. After the game, Mitch Liddle was named 3rd Grade League MVP and Scott Moran awarded Pitcher of the Year; presented by Club Patron Hartley Anderson.
Photo Gallery

Presentation Night Awards

The 2016 Presentation Night was hosted at our offical sponsor The West Village, Petersham. The evening was a tremendous success, due to the clutch efforts of the Exec: Alex Cobb, Anthony Palmer, Jasper Odgers, Andrew Franklin and Ben Warnock.

Special thanks to club photographers Cary Mather, Stefan Patterson and Andrew Tetley, whose images from the season adorned the walls for the evening. 

Perpetual Award Winners

Adam Barbaro
Jack Mould Club MVP

Adam Barbaro
David Hynes Club Batting Champion

Stephen Smith
Neil Barrowcliff Club Gold Glove

Patrick Glover
Jennie Finlay Encouragement Award

Sam Collins
Pam Garret 'The Stump' Award

Mitch Liddle
'The Swan' (Most Extra Base Hits)

1st Grade Awards

Adam Barbaro - MVP
Jonathan Freeston - Players' Player
Adam Barbaro - Batting Champion
Stephen Smith - Gold Glove

2nd Grade Awards

Wade Shipard - MVP
Patrick Glover - Players' Player
David Symons - Batting Champion
David Symons - Gold Glove

3rd Grade Awards

Mitch Liddle - MVP
Andrew Franklin - Players' Player
Mitch Liddle - Batting Champion
Andrew Franklin - Gold Glove

4th Grade Awards

Stefano Vecchiarelli - MVP
Scott Hunter - Players' Player
Matt Best - Batting Champion
Scott Hunter - Gold Glove

Wade Shipard